Latest News
January 20, 2022

The Winston-Salem Foundation Committee Announces Three New Board Members in 2022

The Winston-Salem Foundation welcomes (l-r), Matthew Cullinan, Carol Davis, and Tom Lawson to The Winston-Salem Foundation Committee, the Foundation’s primary governing body.  

Carol Davis
is executive director of S.G. Atkins Community Development Corporation (CDC) and special assistant to the Chancellor of Winston-Salem State University. S.G. Atkins CDC builds homes for families, provides technical assistance and office space for entrepreneurs, operates the first shared-use commercial kitchen in Forsyth County, and supports the efforts of neighborhood leaders. Their Enterprise Center is a LEED-certified hub for community engagement and business incubation for entrepreneurs and nonprofits. Davis is committed to building equity and social justice to increase homeownership and business ownership rates in East Winston-Salem.  

Matthew Cullinan has spent nearly three decades in leadership positions in higher education at Wake Forest University, the University of Notre Dame, and most recently, the University of Denver. He is a member of the Board of Trustees of Winston-Salem State University and vice chair of Project Impact. Matt was previously chair of the Duke University Sanford School of Public Policy Board of Visitors, board chair at Summit School, trustee of Be The Change, and on the advisory council of the University of Notre Dame College of Arts and Letters.

Tom Lawson is managing director, Bank of America Private Bank Philanthropic Solutions Group.  In addition to serving on the Foundation’s board, he is a board member of Samaritan Ministries, Haiti Outreach Ministries (Advisory Board), Mount Tabor Baseball Backers, and Sigma-Upsilon Alumni Association. Past board service includes the Ronald McDonald House, Trellis Supportive Care Foundation, Winston-Salem State University Foundation, and Kaleideum. Tom is a graduate of Leadership Winston-Salem and is also a former Foundation staff member.

The Foundation is most appreciative of the leadership of Lucia Marshall, Dr. John McConnell, and Randall Tuttle who rotated off the Committee in December.