The Foundation offers scholarships with more general eligibility criteria, as well as scholarships with more specific criteria, such as those for students attending specific high schools or colleges or those pursuing certain fields of study.  Some scholarships entail a one-time award, while many are renewable for three additional years.  Additionally, many scholarships are strictly merit-based, while others will also consider family income as a factor.

Most scholarships are designated for students attending Forsyth County high schools, but there are also scholarships designated for students who attend high schools in other locations in our service area.  Some scholarships allow non-Forsyth County residents who attend a Forsyth County high school to qualify as long as they reside in a county in the Foundation's service area.  The Foundation's service area includes Davie, Davidson, Forsyth, Surry, Stokes, Yadkin and Wilkes counties

There are two different scholarship application processes: many scholarship applications are made through the Foundation's Common Application process, while other scholarships utilize their own application process.


The Foundation offers many scholarships utlilzing a common online application process.  Click this link to begin the Common Application for the 2015/2016 academic year.

After completing the Foundation’s Common Application, we will provide you with a list of scholarship opportunities for which you will be considered.  You need only complete this application once and you will automatically be considered for all programs sharing the common application. There is no need to apply for these scholarships individually or more than once -  the prequalifying process is done for you.

For informational purposes, you may wish to review the listings of Common Application Scholarships offered through the Foundation. 

Common Application Deadlines:

January 1: Foundation begins accepting common applications online

April 1: deadline for most merit-based scholarships

June 15: deadline for:
Annie S. Alexander Memorial Scholarship (nursing)
Azalee Clements Memorial Scholarship
Harry C. Morgan Memorial Scholarship (Engineering)
Alice Conger Patterson Scholarship
Samuel Griffin Seawell and Patsy Moore Seawell Memorial Scholarship 

August 15
: final deadline for most financial need-based scholarships (Note: for those scholarships with an August 15 deadline, decisions are made on an ongoing basis; therefore, the earlier we receive your completed application, the greater the possibility that scholarship funds will still be available.)

August 15: deadline for:
The Dean Prim Scholarship
The Garden Club Council of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County Scholarship (horticulture)


There are many other Foundation scholarship opportunities that will not be identified through this common application process, as they are administered by independent committees outside of the Foundation.  You must contact each scholarship committee or guidance counselor individually to inquire as to their specific application process and deadlines. 

Other Scholarships Application Deadlines: vary by scholarship, students must apply directly to individual committees 

Please review Other Scholarships carefully for these scholarship opportunities that are not included in the Foundation's common application process.


©2005-2015 The Winston-Salem Foundation • 751 W Fourth St, Suite 200 • Winston-Salem, NC 27101 • 336.725.2382